Lean on Me

To be quite honest, the last couple of months have quite possibly been the most difficult of my life. My wife and I have been through some major issues.

This shouldn’t have come as a surprise. Just before this happened, our pastor had said some people in our church would go through some tests. I assumed (hoped) he was talking about someone else, as there are several hundred people in our church.

Anyhow, we lost a close family member, my wife found out she was diabetic, my work became significantly more chaotic, and my school schedule went into an uproar. For the first time in my life I honestly had no idea how I was going to keep going. I mean, I have had moments like that, but not days, weeks, and months.

In the last week we have finally found it in ourselves to reach out to those around us and bare our souls. This wasn’t easy. We are small group leaders, so telling our group we are struggling like this has been quite challenging. Reaching out to others outside our group has been equally challenging. But as we did, we were not judged but loved. We received amazing support.

Things aren’t all better yet, but we see hope. We are trusting and seeing God begin to move us toward healing. So, I asked God if this was some kind of test, what were we supposed to learn? I mean, did we just go through this because it is part of life, or was their a reason? God works all things too good, right?

Then I realized. You could say God spoke to me. I didn’t hear a voice, but I came to a realization that was beyond myself. That is often how God speaks to me. The realization is this. We have to learn to receive support from those around us. God didn’t design us to make it through life alone. We were designed for community. We need each other.

As long as we were trying to do it alone, we struggled. Once we reached out to the community God had placed in our lives, God was able to begin to work. This is more of a confession than anything to teach you. However, maybe you can learn the lesson from us instead of going through it yourself.

Leave a Reply

