Pain and Providence

Sometimes life can be overwhelming. Sometimes it is hard to find the strength to keep moving. These are the most frustrating times in our lives. They are painful times that we would skip if we had the choice.

Fortunately, we don’t have the choice. Why would I say that? Because it is these times that shape us and develop our character. It is these times that make us the people God designed us to be. Without these times, we would all be shallow, weak individuals.

I write this out of experience. Over the last month I have been broken in a way I have never experienced. My family has been in crisis with one obstacle after another. Yet we have prevailed and are coming through the trials stronger and healthier than we went in. We may have a few scars, but they only serve to remind us of God’s faithfulness.

It is in these times that we see life more accurately. In these times we hear God more clearly. Looking back, most of the life changing experiences I have had came out of times like this. Most of the promises I have received came in times like this. I wouldn’t be the person God has crafted me to become if I hadn’t gone through struggles and trials.

So, though I still find myself tempted to pray for God to help me avoid these trials, I see the truth in David’s psalm, “though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for You are with me”. Though I wouldn’t wish these trials on myself or anyone else, I cherish what comes from them (though I could use a bit of a break for now).

Leave a Reply

